Is This Normal?

The chaos that is the Kerbers

The end of it all

Today was the last day of school.  As I mentioned previously, we handle thousands of textbooks over the course of a week or so.  I just wanted to give everyone a visual for that process.

Even this doesn’t give you the full effect, but you get the idea.  It’s not fun, but now it’s done.  🙂 

I have to admit that I was ready for this school year to end.  Ever since the beginning of May, when I learned about my involuntary transfer to travel between both high schools, things have not been great for me at school.  I know that I shouldn’t, but I really just see this transfer as a demotion.  I feel like the hard work I’ve put into my job for five years is just being ignored.  And even though I do respect seniority and our union, it’s difficult to swallow the concept of someone doing a job for one year bumping someone doing the same job for four years longer.  I think that in a weird way it’s even more difficult because I’m good friends with Caroline.  I don’t begrudge her the position at NCHS…and I know she’s certainly qualified.  But I still can’t shake the idea that my entire career has been turned upside down and there’s not a single thing I can do about it, which sucks.  What I hate the most is that I usually embrace change and just move forward doing whatever it is I can to make it work best for me.  This time, though, I really feel like there’s nothing I can do.  Instead of being half of a team working together in the IMC, I will be a glorified assistant whose basic function is to cover the “real” librarians’ conference periods.  And no matter how anyone sugar coats it, that’s what my job now is. 

I have the summer to wrap my brain around this whole thing and to mentally prepare myself for my new job.  I want to do that…I just hope I can.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment